Sequoias for the Sixth and Seventh

We got up the morning of the sixth and started to tear down camp. The kids were able to get some last minute river play in. We didn’t have far to drive so we took our time.

We headed on to Sequoia National Park. Once we got there we headed up to check out the largest tree in the world (I’m still skeptical, but Jud thinks I’m silly). We hiked down to General Sherman and then took the Congress trail, which I highly recommend. So many people are content with seeing the major attraction they miss out on a whole other grove of redwoods just as grandiose and amazing. It is about a two mile hike through some incredibly huge and unforgettable trees. I was wondering why they called it the Congress trail and soon found out because it is home to the President Tree, The Senate Cluster and the House Cluster. On the trail we all slid down a felled sequoia. The kids were having such a good time! We joked that it was part of nature’s playground for us.

Venturing to the campsite we saw a few deer and a sunset with colors indescribable. Our campsite is awesome! We love the location and the kids love the big boulders they can climb. They made a friend, Lucas and played hide and seek with him the morning of the seventh. 

We gathered them for a hike to the second largest tree in the world (still skeptical), General Grant. It was about two miles from where we camped. Once we got to the grove we saw the Michigan Tree that was formerly named the Spring Tree due to the spring of water that ran under it and later added to its demise. It ended up falling over in 1931.

We also walked through a hollowed log of a sequoia, that I would totally live in if I could. The kids crawled under a sequoia through a fire scar. Finally we made it to General Grant. We climbed some boulders and hung out on the rocks and just observed the tree. 

As a kid, I practically lived in our trees. We had two pines in the front and a cherry and apple tree in the backyard. My brother and I were always climbing a tree. One of my favorite things to do was to look up at the sky through the tree branches. I still love looking up through the branches and a I laid back on the boulder and looked through the sequoia branches I was thinking of the times this tree had been through. Then my mind wandered to my life and what has brought me to this point. 

We hiked back and spooked a few deer off the trail. It was a mama and her two young deer, one male as he started budding antlers and the other a doe. We had lunch and hung out in the hammocks for a little while after lunch. Then we suited up and headed to Lake Hume for some fun in the sun and the water. We went to Sandy Cove and enjoyed the natural water slides among the rocks. The kids had a great time cooling off and sliding down the rocks. I laid out and worked on my awesome “hiking tan”. The water was cool and so refreshing. Once you got your head under it was much more tolerable. We found a little pool of water to hang out in. 

Lake Hume is home to a Christian camp so the place was crawling with teenagers. It was funny because Jud and I totally felt at home! Talk about Paradise for these teens! I was excited for them and for us to have such a great afternoon.

This evening we got back to the site, the kids were in hammocks, bouldering or collecting pine cones. I cooked dinner (so good, buffalo chicken with quinoa and mozzarella cheese). Then we checked out the sunset and chilled around the fire.

I love the days we don’t have to rush around and we can hang out at he campsite. 

Leave a Reply

